UMS on an Android TV

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Dlofud

UMS on an Android TV

Post by Dlofud »

Hi guys!

Thanks for the great work on UMS, I've never used a media server before but it already seems a great piece of software to me!

So, a thing, not a real "support" request.
For browsing and playing some media content on my Android Tv (with UMS installed on my laptop), I'm supposed to log-in into UMS via web interface using a browser installed on the TV, or there's another way, more straight-forward? :?:
Nadahar

Re: UMS on an Android TV

Post by Nadahar »

While it's possible to use UMS' web-interface, that's not the "main" way of accessing UMS. UMS is a UPnP AV/DLNA server, so you need a UPnP AV or DLNA client. "Smart" TVs usually have this built in, called "Media Player" or whatnot. I don't know how this is done on Android TV, you might need to install an "app" that lets you access UPnP AV/DLNA content. I have no idea if this is a good solution for Android TV, but for "normal" Android, the combination of BubbleUPnP and MXPlayer works pretty good. I'd think there would be a better way on a dedicated TV though.
Dlofud

Post by Dlofud »

Nadahar wrote: Tue Dec 08, 2020 6:11 am While it's possible to use UMS' web-interface, that's not the "main" way of accessing UMS. UMS is a UPnP AV/DLNA server, so you need a UPnP AV or DLNA client. "Smart" TVs usually have this built in, called "Media Player" or whatnot. I don't know how this is done on Android TV, you might need to install an "app" that lets you access UPnP AV/DLNA content. I have no idea if this is a good solution for Android TV, but for "normal" Android, the combination of BubbleUPnP and MXPlayer works pretty good. I'd think there would be a better way on a dedicated TV though.
Thanks, Nadahar.

These are the first information I needed to know before trying things out.