Don't want local media folders displayed

General discussion about Universal Media Server (no support or requests)
Post Reply
JDN165
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:47 pm

Don't want local media folders displayed

Post by JDN165 »

I've created virtual folders using the VirtualFolders.conf file and this works fine.
There's no need for me to add physical folders in the Shared Content tab, so I leave "Shared Folders" in this tab empty.
However, for some reason UMS now adds my Windows local media folders (Music, Video, Pictures) to the Shared Folders, which I do not want. I just want to navigate through my virtual folders and don't need (and don't want) these local folders. When I delete these 3 unwanted folders, they are added again when UMS is restarted.

How can I prevent UMS adding these folders?
JDN165
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:47 pm

Re: Don't want local media folders displayed

Post by JDN165 »

Clearly a tough question.
What I ask is not possible?
Of should I perhaps ask this question in the Help and Support section?
User avatar
mik_s
Moderator
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Don't want local media folders displayed

Post by mik_s »

I'm not sure it is supposed to do that.
I think on a new install those are added as default for new users if no folders are set, but maybe they is a flaw in the logic so if you delete those then UMS thinks it is a new install and tries to be helpful by adding them again.

I'm sure this was not the behaviour on older versions.

I have noticed something similar with the web content folder, If I delete everything it will be repopulated when UMS is restarted. I have to leave at least one item.

I have created an issue on GitHub for the devs to look in to it
Logs are important for us to help, Please follow This Link before asking for support. Just a forum cleaner, Will help if I can but no expert.
Post Reply